Punter's Guide to Picnic Racing Home
   Past News Picnic Racing Awards Night 2013/2014 Season
Picnic Bookies Always a Better Bet !


PicnicBet Punter
of the Year

How to and the Rules........click here

Picnic Racing on Facebook
Picnic Racing on YouTube

Picnic Racing Awards Night 2013/14 Season

Picnic Racing Opening Welcome Address......
Welcome everyone to the 19th consecutive Picnic Awards Night. Your M.C. for this evening is Adam Olszanski.

We welcome tonight the Premier's Parlimentary Secretary, Mr. Craig Ondarchie, MLA along with the Chairman, Vice Chairman & Director of Country Racing Victoria and Chairman, Vice Chairman, Director and CEO of Racing Victoria with us tonight to celebrate the achievements & successes of the Rider's, Trainer's, Club's & people involved in another successful Picnic Racing Season.

Tonight we celebrate, reward and recognize industry participants and race clubs. Collectively we have combined to deliver a product which we can all be proud of. The Picnic Racing circuit provides a chance for trainers to commence & expand their career & for Approved Riders's an opportunity to advance their skills and experience in the Racing Industy.

Otherwise known as the picnic racing carnival, we all agree there is nothing better than a day at the picnic races where we find thousands of customers trackside often enjoying good weather whilst celebrating functions and having a great day out with friends and family.

We look forward to the 2014/2015 Picnic Racing Season.
Gary Buckley, Regional Services and Administration Manager

Picnic Racing is important both financially and socially to local communities. Without the Clubs, Patrons, Sponsors, Volunteers, Barrier Staff, Clerks, Trainers Riders and most importantly the HORSES, there would be no racing.

Thank you for your support in attending and supporting Picnic Racing throughout the season and congratulations to all of this years award winners.

Picnic Horse of the Year - Based on the number of wins and placings at picnic meetings, won by Bemarydan, trained by John Kilgower.

Leading Rider of the Year - Awarded to the rider with the highest number of wins at picnic meetings and won by Adam Bodey.

"Barry Ryan" Memorial Award - Based on votes cast by Racing Victoria Stewards at every picnic meeting on a 3,2,1 basis. Votes are determined by the 'the best riding performance of the day'. Recognising the skill and horsemanship of the rider - regardless of the final placing and was won by Adam Bodey
Runner Up Rider of the Year - Awarded to the rider with the second highest number of wins at picnic meetings and won by Michael Kent (Jnr)
"David Bourke" Picnic Racing Club of the Year - Awarded to Balnarring Picnic Racing Club.
"Neville & Bev Seymour" Club Award (One meeting) - Won by Dederang Picnic Racing Club
Trainer of the Year - Based on the number of wins and placing's at picnic meetings and won by John Kilgower.
"Dennis Foy Memorial" Up and Coming Rider Award - Based on votes cast by fellow senior picnic riders and won by Reece Goodwin.
Recognition of Training Services to Picnic Racing - Won by the Waymouth Family.
VBA/CRV Sprinter, Middle Distance Stayers series winners - Sprinter series won by Bemarydan, trained by John Kilgower - Middle Distance Stayers series won by Shanghai Rooster, trained by Reg Manning.
PicnicBet.com Punter of the Year - A competition for the racing enthusiasts that support Picnic Racing on the punt run via the www.picnicracing.com.au Facebook site. Won by Jim Flanagan (alias Fred Smith). Nominated picnic club prizewinner, Yea St. Pat's.

Next season starts off with a different format as Alexandra host a meeting on Cox Plate Day which promises to be a good opener. Hope you can all make it for what promises to be a great event.




About-Contact Us | Responsible Gambling l Link Partner